Navigation: Home ›  The model ›  Special features ›  Modelling of Heat Transfer

Modelling of Heat Transfer

The modelling of heat transfer in the soil is done by the heat transfer equation, which is solved by an implicit finite difference scheme.

The hydrologically particularly important freezing of soil water and the thawing of frozen soils is modelled in detail by accounting for the change in energy (supply or abstraction) that is needed to obtain a certain temperature change. This energy is a function of several parameters, including the soils grain size distribution is - especially withing the temperature range of phase change. In very fine porous soils liquid water exists even below -10C, in other soils already barely below about -1 to -2C. Between 0C and -10C (this are the limits for WaSiM), the relative ratio of liquid water and ice is changing continuously. There is no fixed temperature at which water suddenly turns into or vice versa. These complex relationships are modeled in detail in the model, thus allowing a detailed process analysis.

The soil is subdivided into the same layers as they are used in the modelling of water flows in the Richard model (actually, the modelling of heat transfer is done in the soil model)

The solution of the heat transport equation can be done either for diffusion only, or for diffusion and advection (program parameters in the control file). If advection is taken into account, the thermal energy of rainfall and melting water infiltrating into the ground is also considered.

Since the implicit solution scheme has been implemented, the module is relatively insensitive to long-time sub steps - there will be no oscillations in most cases - yet the automatically defined internal time step should not be limited to a too large minimum time step. Otherwise the model results would become more and more inaccurate.

Details on the modeling of heat transfer, also the complete set of equations, can be found in the WaSiM model documentation.

back top home

WaSiM-News

12/11/2016

new patch availabe:
WaSiM 9.10.01 -> More »

Third WaSiM User Conference in Munich, October 18-19 2017:
Announcement -> More »

Navigation: Home ›  Das Modell ›  Spezielle Features ›  Modellierung des Wärmetransports

Modellierung des Wärmetransports

Die Modellierung des Wärmetransports im Boden erfolgt über die Wärmetransportgleichung, welche mit einem impliziten Lösungsschema einer Finiten-Differenzen-Darstellung gelöst wird.

Das für die hydrologische Modellierung besonders wichtige Gefrieren des Bodenwassers sowie das Auftauen gefrorener Böden wird detailliert mitmodelliert, indem die Energieänderung (Zufuhr, Abgabe), die nötig ist, um eine gewisse Temperaturänderung zu erreichen, im Bereich der Phasenübergänge eine Funktion verschiedener Parameter, u.a. der Porengrössenverteilnun, ist. In sehr feinporösen Böden existiert z.T. noch bei unter -10°C flüssiges Wasser, in anderen Böden schon kaum noch unterhalb von ca. -1 bis -2°C. Zwischen 0°C und z.B. -10°C ist das relative Verhältnis von Wasser und Eis fliessend, es gibt keine fixe Temperatur, an welcher plötklich alles Wasser zu Eis wird un umgekehrt. Diese komplexen Zusammenhänge werden im Modell detailliert modelliert und erlauben so eine detaillierte Prozessanalyse.

Der Boden wird dabei in dieselben Schichten unterteilt, wie sie in der Modellierung der Wasserflüsse im Richardsmodell genutzt werden (tatsächlich erfolgt die Modellierung des Wärmetransports auch im Bodenmodell)

Die Lösung der Wärmetransportgleichung kann entweder nur für die Diffusion oder aber auch für Diffusion und Advektion erfolgen (Programmparameter in der Steuerdatei). Wenn Advektion mit berücksichtigt wird, dann wird die Wärmeenergie von Niederschlag und Schmelzwasser zusätzlich in den Boden eingetragen.

Da das implizit Lösungsschema implementiert wurde, ist das Modul relativ unempfindlich gegenüber zu langen Sub-Zeitschritten - es kommt nicht zu Oszillationen - dennoch sollte der automatisch ermittelbare interne Zeitschritt nicht manuell auf zu lange Mindestzeiten begrenzt werden.

Detaillierte Ausführungen zur Modellierung des Wärmetransports im Boden enthält die Modelldokumentation.

back top home

WaSiM-News

04.11.2017

Neuer Patch verfügbar:
WaSiM 10.00.03 -> Mehr »